New to BFS? Please click here to get started.
You can also sign up for my FREE Weekly Newsletter to get access to EXCLUSIVE monthly giveaways!!!
See you in the comments soon!

August 2016 Self-Employment Income of $7765 and Net Worth of $522,225!!!

This post may contain affiliate links.

It really IS possible to earn a living working from home, doing legitimate things. This lady has been doing it for years now and earns thousands of dollars per month. She also shares how she got started and how I can too. I'm so glad that I read this today, it's inspiring me to start my own blog and build up my very own business. Check it out - http://www.budgetinginthefunstuff.com/august-2016-self…and-net-worth-of/

It’s that time again! I like to use monthly income and net worth updates for motivation. Posting them pushes me to try harder, I am forced to look at our numbers, and I started blogging so I could share with all of you and get feedback. I would also like to inspire more people to create income streams out of something they truly enjoy.

My Backstory for New Readers

I worked in a dead end cubicle job from when I graduated from college in 2005 through July 2011. It wasn’t possible for me to ever grow in the department I enjoyed and the rest of the company would have sucked my soul out through my ears.  My highest salary there was $35,500 after 6 years.  My original plan was to stay there for 30 years and retire. That plan went to crap for two main reasons. First, I wanted to truly connect with people. Second, the company was in a slump and told me to “look busy”…

That led me to creating Budgeting in the Fun Stuff in February 2010 even though I had zero professional writing experience.  I had been a blog reader and commenter for a few months and followed my urge to jump in. It grew faster than I expected (thank you!), and I have been fully self-employed since July 2011. My husband joined me very willingly in 2012 (he was in his second year as an elementary school librarian following 4 years of teaching 8th grade science).  BFS itself has made more than $100,000 since I started.

My husband and I live on the income we earn through our online business, professional pet sitting, his seasonal sports officiating, and our first house which is now our rental property. We currently bring in $70,000-$100,000 each year – 100% self-employed. If you’d like to start your own site, I worked out a special for my readers with Bluehost – lower rates on all 12+ month packages (for example, $2.95 per month for 36 months for their “basic” plan). I use Bluehost too, but I signed up for the 36 month package with their “Plus” plan since I have multiple domains.

I also just republished a free three part series to help:

Or if blogging isn’t your schtick, check out my recommended tools and services to help you save money! I’ve also personally done all sorts of side hustles including being a jewelry reseller from online to pawn shops in my late teens, being a cow mascot in my early 30’s, selling my hair for $100+, and starting my own professional pet sitting business in 2014. Email me any time for ideas as well since side hustles and entrepreneurship have become my whole life!

Onto this month’s update!!!

August 2016 Self-Employment Income

  • Crystal for Hire (Freelancing like Writing, App Review Replies, and Blog Ad Management) – $2525
  • Budgetinginthefunstuff.com – $1350
  • Marriedwithdebt.com (and occasionally some of my personal sites) – $125
  • Bluehost and VistaPrint – $75
  • eBook – $25
  • Professional pet sitting (also Mr. BFS and me) – $2650
  • Renting out our first house – $1250
  • Sports officiating (hubby’s hobby job – between seasons) – $0
  • Total = $8000

August 2016 Main Self-Employment Expenses (Taken Off the Top)

  • Normal Expenses (Paypal fees, Staff Writer for Marriedwithdebt.com, Etc.) – $215
  • Domain Renewals and/or hosting renewal – $0
  • More Business Cards from Vistaprint – $20
  • Total = $235

Overall, we brought in about $7765 this past month.

Our Target

To put things into perspective, we need about $6000 a month just for our monthly nut. $4000 covers our monthly bills like the remaining mortgage ($1000), Liberty Healthshare ($300), my car payment ($275), car insurance ($125), property taxes and insurance on both homes ($1300 a month), and income taxes ($1000 a month). The other $2000 a month usually goes to food, utilities, car maintenance and gasoline, life insurance, and splurgy extras. You can check out our our budget anytime.

The extra after that $6000 is divided between savings, investments, and even a little for fun. It also helps make up for not-so-good months that pop up.

So, this month we made about $1750 extra and that went back into our emergency savings since we borrowed from it for my husband’s Lasik last month.  I’m concentrating on growing affiliate income on BFS now, so hopefully that number will increase each month too…

Our main financial goal is to continue making enough overall to work from home as long as possible since we both prefer self-employment over “normal” day jobs. Our secondary goal is to use the majority of any extra money that we ever have to reach financial independence as soon as possible (we are aiming for age 50 or before). We may still choose to work even if we ever have enough saved not to, but we would like to make that choice ourselves.

Disclaimer

Please keep in mind that this income comes from 30+ hour work weeks online divided between me and Mr. BFS. We put in another 20-40 hours a week split up into pet sitting. When it’s a sports season he’s involved in, Mr. BFS puts in about 20-30 hours a week into reffing. My personal minimum work week has become about 50-60 hours.

We also end up paying about 20-25% in income taxes since we do have to cover the employer’s part as well. I was working 100+ hours a week personally for over a year before I was able to leave my old day job. I just want to be clear that this isn’t easy money in any respect. I want to inspire everyone to accomplish their dreams, no matter what it takes. I am not saying it will be simple or fast. It just can be done.

Net Worth Update – End of August 2016

Assets

Cash (in all checking and savings accounts) – $94,000 (+$3000)
Stocks – $18,950 (-$20)
Retirement – $169,425 (+$2625)
Home – $306,000 (same)
Rental House – $122,000 (same)
Cars – $14,500 (-$350)

Liabilities

Home – $193,000 ($350)
Car – $9650 ($150)

Total Net Worth = $522,225
Last Month: $516,470
Total Monthly Change: +$5755

My Thoughts

Well, it has been an emotionally horrific 2 months.  My grandma died July 7th, my aunt died August 4th, and my grandpa died September 6th.  I’m drained but am determined to get back on some sort of routine.  I know you never really stop grieving, but I just want my grief to be older than the milk in my fridge!  Okay, done with my pity party…

Monetarily, after covering my husband’s Lasik surgery last month and booking some more work travel this month, I’m ecstatic that we’re still chugging along!

Our home values are based on official evaluations we had done in April. Our car values are based off of Kelley Blue Book combined with what I see selling on Craigslist.

In case you are ever wondering, the car loan is at 0.9% interest, so we are not planning on paying it off early. I had been starting to hear that siren call of debt freedom though, so I set up our mortgage payment to take out $1250 instead of $990 with the extra being applied towards the principal.  Our mortgage is at 4% interest, so that made more sense to me.

Our cash reserves do have a significant amount in them, but that is by design. Overall, we want $60,000 broken up in the following ways – $5000 in checking, $20,000 in our emergency fund (will need to re-pad this since we used the $4500 for Lasik in July), $20,000 in our blog income account for paychecks, $10,000 in our rental home account, $5000 in a car account for our next down payment. And we have two accounts that build $2000 per month (hopefully) throughout the year (so at $32,000 right now). One of those accounts is the one we use to save for and pay our income and property taxes as well as our home insurance and HOA dues. The other is to save up for this year’s SEP IRA contributions as well as the following year’s Roth IRA contributions.

Overall, I’m optimistic for 2016. We hit my $500,000 goal earlier this year. 🙂 Now we have been working on the BIG goal set at $550,000 (a 10-15% increase over last year).

How have you been doing lately? What are your short-term and long-term financial goals?



FYI:  I worked at a dead end cubicle job from 2005-2011 for about $30,000 per year.  I went self-employed in July 2011 and make between $70,000-$90,000 through blogging, professional pet sitting, hubby's reffing, and our rental home.  If you’d like to start your own site (link to my free step-by-step guide), I highly suggest checking out Bluehost (my referral link with a nice discount for you, PLUS a free custom header banner from me!).  Please contact me any time at budgetingfunstuff*at*gmail*dot*com with questions or just to brainstorm! I’d love to help!
Be Sociable, Share!
Don’t Kill Yourself Over Debt or Anything Else #WSPD16
7 Valuable Tips to be Smarter in Investing

6 thoughts on “August 2016 Self-Employment Income of $7765 and Net Worth of $522,225!!!

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the passing of your Grandma, Grandpa, and Aunt <3
    Congratulations on your awesome earnings for August! My short and long term financial goals include increasing the amount I invest each month, saving to move to Australia in 7 years, and making more money online!




    0



    0
  2. Thank you for your post and my condolences regarding your grandparents. I lost my grandma on my dad’s side last year and that was the hardest thing. Time is a great healer and as with my grandma’s memories remain with me, so shall your grandparents.

    I also took money out of savings for my Lasik too last year and that was the best thing I have done, the savings I will make from not having to buy contacts and replacement glasses and also life is better being able to see unaided!

    I look forward to your future posts – I’m getting started and right where you were back in 2005 – I hope I can achieve your success!




    0



    0
  3. @Francesca, thank you. And yes, marriedwithdebt.com is a site I bought and several awesome staff writers, like Mike S (a commenter here), have been staff writers for. Mike S is the current staff writer and he’s a hoot.

    @Ashli, moving to Australia in 7 years seems very specific – what’s up with that?! 🙂

    @Helen, wowzas, lots of commonalities! My success just means figuring out something you like that can also make money and then doing it a lot, like 80+ hours a week. 😉 Glad to have met you and I hope you keep commenting – I’d love to see the paths you take!!!




    0



    0
  4. Crystal
    I’m sorry to hear about your grandparents and aunt passing. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.




    0



    0

Comments are closed.