New to BFS? Please click here to get started.
You can also sign up for my FREE Weekly Newsletter to get access to EXCLUSIVE monthly giveaways!!!
See you in the comments soon!

Out of Posts for Reader Profile Friday :-(

If you are seeing this post, it means it happened again and I am out of Reader Profiles.  🙁 BUT, you can be the hero for next week!  Check out the general guidelines and feel free to send one over!!!  😀 If you’ve already participated but have any updates to add, feel free to send over another updated profile too.  We all love updates!  Thanks!!!

Need Reader Profiles

Hi again!  As of right this second, I don’t have a Reader Profile for Friday.  🙁  If any of you would be interested, please check out the guidelines at http://www.budgetinginthefunstuff.com/bfs-reader-profiles/ and send one over to budgetingfunstuff *at* gmail *dot* com.  Just remember that it needs to be in a blog post kind of format, not just bullet points of info. If you have already participated, you are still more than welcome to submit an updated profile – we all love updates.  🙂  Thanks!!!

Reader Profile Friday – Freedom 48

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Julie from Freedom 48. Thanks for participating! Personal Background Hi! My name is Julie, I’m 29 years old and I live in Ottawa, Canada.  My husband Nick is 32 years old and we’ve been married for almost five years. We’ve been together for more than fourteen years… in fact we’re high school sweethearts! We live in a two story colonial house in the “old part of town” with our thirteen year old cat named Fluffy. We don’t have children yet, but hope to in the near future. Financial Background We bought our first home in 2003, while we were both full-time university students.  In 2009 we bought our current home, but kept the first home and rented it out to a wonderful family.  Our current home has a two bedroom apartment which is rented to two university students. The rental income has been crucial to our saving and investing and an integral part of our journey towards an early retirement. I work as a clerk at a medical legal organization, making $40,000 per year.  My husband works as a statistician with the federal … Read more…

Reader Profile Friday – Jennifer’s Journey

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Jennifer from Jennifer’s Journey. Thanks for participating! Personal Background Hi! I’m Jennifer from jfersjourney.com.  I just started blogging about my journey through marriage, motherhood and life.  I’m in my mid-30’s (OMG), married almost ten years now, with a four year old daughter who looks just like me. We also have two dogs and a cat. We live in Ohio, northwest of Columbus, out in the country.  We have just over an acre of land and currently live in a mobile home (3 bed, 2 bath). I work for a large automotive company, in the facilities department. I’ve been with the company for almost eight years now, in my current position for just over two years. I contribute to my 401(k) above my company match, and am fully vested in my pension. And I’m lucky enough to still have 100% company provided benefits. My husband is a truck driver for a small local company. He is home every day, just long enough to sleep, eat, and say good night to the munchkin. Financial Breakdown Our annual income has grown over the years to … Read more…

Reader Profile Friday – Single Moms Income

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Alexa from Single Moms Income. Thanks for participating! Personal Background Hi everyone! My name is Alexa I am a 26 year old single mother to two little girls ages two and four. I am recently divorced and trying to adjust to making it on my own. I have two jobs that both bring about the same amount of income. Job number one is bookkeeping for a department store and job number two is an insurance agent. I keep myself very busy between two kids and two jobs! Income and Expenses I bring home around $36,000 a year from both jobs combined. My expenses run just under $1800 a month so I still have a decent amount to save after I pay the bills. After getting divorced I decided to buy a trailer and put it on an extra lot my family had so that I didn’t have to worry about a high rent or mortgage payment. I took out a $10,000 loan for this. It is a four year loan with a monthly payment of $226. This is the only debt that I … Read more…

Reader Profile Friday: My Money Design

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know MMD from My Money Design. Thanks for participating! Hello BFS readers!  I’m the writer / creator of My Money Design and I go by the anonymous name MMD.  My Money Design is a blog that is all about perfecting your “money design” – the way you do things with your money and life to help you get you closer to your financial goals.  For me, I end up spending a lot of time focusing on early retirement and how many investments plan to get me there. About the MMD Family I’m a 32 year old guy with a lovely wife of 10 years and two beautiful kids.  We live in the U.S. just outside of Flint, Michigan.  If you’ve never heard of Flint, it was actually the birthplace of General Motors.  Flint was also made incredibly popular in the Michael Moore movie “Roger and Me”. Our Story Unlike a lot of the Reader Profile stories I’ve read here on BFS, our story isn’t really one of overcoming debt.  Rather it’s about how two average kids got to where they are today, and where … Read more…

Reader Profile Friday: I Got Outta Debt

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Joe from I Got Outta Debt. Thanks for participating! Personal Background My name is Joe and I’m just under 50 (Just barely….).  I’ve been married to a wonderful woman for 24 years and have 3 great kids, one of whom is engaged to be married sometime in 2013… or maybe 2014.  We lived in TX for 15 years before returning to Virginia Beach, where my wife grew up.  Our oldest daughter lasted here for about 2 years before she returned to Texas where she now lives. Personal Finance Background We Got Outta Debt in January of 2012 by paying off our $68,000 in credit card and car loan debts.  It took us a little over 3 years and we were fortunate that I was able to earn some extra money from bonuses my company paid for me traveling.  Of course, the downside there was that I was traveling.  In spite of the recession, I was able to switch jobs, get a raise and not have to travel (as much). So I went from 50 weeks a year to around 10!  My wife also went … Read more…