New to BFS?

If you are new to Budgeting in the Fun Stuff (BFS), please click here. It'll give you a little background and a starting point for browsing BFS. See you in the comments soon!

As Seen On

Forbes

Yahoo
DailyFinance

Get Rich Slowly

House Logic

Categories

Check Out My eBooks!!!

How I Make Money Blogging Managing Your Monthly Nut

Reader Profile Friday: I Got Outta Debt

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Joe from I Got Outta Debt. Thanks for participating!

Personal Background

My name is Joe and I’m just under 50 (Just barely….).  I’ve been married to a wonderful woman for 24 years and have 3 great kids, one of whom is engaged to be married sometime in 2013… or maybe 2014.  We lived in TX for 15 years before returning to Virginia Beach, where my wife grew up.  Our oldest daughter lasted here for about 2 years before she returned to Texas where she now lives.

Personal Finance Background

We Got Outta Debt in January of 2012 by paying off our $68,000 in credit card and car loan debts.  It took us a little over 3 years and we were fortunate that I was able to earn some extra money from bonuses my company paid for me traveling.  Of course, the downside there was that I was traveling.  In spite of the recession, I was able to switch jobs, get a raise and not have to travel (as much). So I went from 50 weeks a year to around 10!  My wife also went from a substitute Kindergarten Assistant during the ‘Get Outta Debt’ years to starting full time as a Kindergarten Assistant.

We’ve built up our Emergency Fund to about 4 months, which we feel comfortable with, and have been adding to various focused savings accounts – Christmas (coming in handy this time of year) as well as vacation, car replacement,etc.  Our gross household income is just over $100k and we’re currently contributing 6% of my income to 401(k) and will be doing 50% of my wife’s (school teachers don’t get paid much). Once we’re in a little better shape with cash on hand, we’ll probably bump up both of our 401(k) contributions. Right now, my company doesn’t have a matching program… yet.

We have 2 paid off cars, both around 10 years old and have some life in them. Fortunately, since I work mostly from home, my mileage on my car is pretty minimal.  If I go 50 miles in a week, that’s a lot!  My commute is from the bedroom to my home-office.

Blogging

After reading Crystal’s book, I dipped my toes into blogging (http://igotouttadebt.com) and have had a fair amount of traffic. I wish I could be doing more, but this full time job thing keeps getting in my way. :-)  Don’t get me wrong, being too busy is MUCH better than not being busy enough.    I  have taken some time to put together an ebook that talks about our Debt Free Journey in the hope that our story will help others get the motivation to Get Outta Debt.

(Thanks to Crystal for being an inspiration to me for taking the chance.. and for giving me the first review on the book!)  (Crystal:  You are very welcome!)

I was extremely happy to see that my ebook went to #1 Sales Ranking on Amazon in the  Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Nonfiction > Business & Investing > Personal Finance > Budgeting. Here’s a link to the video showing the event!

Goals

One of our more immediate goals is to help pay for our oldest daughter’s wedding.  The proceeds of the ebook are going towards meeting that goal.  We’re also working on beefing up our savings accounts for the vehicles.  We’d love to keep these cars going as long as possible, but when we have to buy, I’d prefer to pay all cash.

After that, the goals are fully funding the 401k and then paying down our primary mortgage.  A next book will probably be focused on that goal.

Please stop on by my blog (http://igotouttadebt.com) and say “Hi!”

Crystal’s Comments:  Good luck with the wedding costs and then saving for your two cars!  It sounds like you and your wife know how to budget, wow!  Congrats on the debt freedom (and for deciding to tackle it to start with)!

If you would like to participate in this series, please follow the guidelines found at BFS Reader Profile and submit your own story.  Everyone is more than welcome and you can stay anonymous if you’d prefer. Thanks!

Be Sociable, Share!

6 comments to Reader Profile Friday: I Got Outta Debt