Help Kylie Ofiu

Please Help Kylie Ofiu. We Won't Let the Abusers Win!

Wooden Watch Giveaway!!!

Check Out the Wooden Watch Giveaway until April 30!!!

As Seen On

Forbes

Yahoo

Get Rich Slowly

Free Money Finance

House Logic

Check Out My eBooks!!!

Managing Your Monthly Nut

How I Make Money Blogging

Categories

Reader Profile Friday – Jennifer’s Journey

The following is a new profile for the BFS Reader Profile series. Today we are getting to know Jennifer from Jennifer’s Journey. Thanks for participating!

Personal Background

Hi! I’m Jennifer from jfersjourney.com.  I just started blogging about my journey through marriage, motherhood and life.  I’m in my mid-30’s (OMG), married almost ten years now, with a four year old daughter who looks just like me. We also have two dogs and a cat.

We live in Ohio, northwest of Columbus, out in the country.  We have just over an acre of land and currently live in a mobile home (3 bed, 2 bath). I work for a large automotive company, in the facilities department. I’ve been with the company for almost eight years now, in my current position for just over two years. I contribute to my 401(k) above my company match, and am fully vested in my pension. And I’m lucky enough to still have 100% company provided benefits.

My husband is a truck driver for a small local company. He is home every day, just long enough to sleep, eat, and say good night to the munchkin.

Financial Breakdown

Our annual income has grown over the years to close to $100,000, we bring home about $6,000/month. Unfortunately, we do have a lot of debt.  We have a Honda Pilot, Harley Davidson, and a camper. All of which have monthly payments, which each more than my mortgage payment ($320/month).

Monthly Expenses:

  • Mortgage Payment $320
  • Cell Phone $300 (this includes our internet, along with a friends phone which he pays me $220 every three months)
  • Student Loan $182
  • Pilot $150/week
  • Bike $115/week
  • Camper $90/week
  • Doctor $25/week (Hospital bills from the munchkin’s ear tubes)
  • Daycare $125/week
  • Insurance $200 (this includes the house, three trucks, the bike, camper and my wedding rings)
  • Electric $120-300 depending on the season
  • Propane $105

(Crystal’s Comment:  That comes to about $3600 a month on the high electric months when you take into account 52 weeks in a year.  Not bad at all when you’re bringing in $6000 a month after taxes, right?  I think it’s pretty dang good and want to be there myself, lol.)

Our Goals

Our goals are to pay off either the bike or the camper this year, and the other next year.  This will provide us with enough to either pay off the Pilot early, or save it for a down payment on a new-to-us house. And we haven’t decided if we want to put another home on our lot or buy a house in town.  We go back and forth with this, but if we stay where we are then we have to follow the zoning regulations which will only allow us to put another single wide mobile home on our land.  However, if we move to town, then we will be able to get a larger house with an open floor plan.  And then there is the school district issue, hopefully they will still have open enrollment by then if we do decide to move.

I’ve been reading BFS and other financial blogs for the last year or so and finally decided to start my own. It won’t be strictly financial, more family stuff and whatever drama comes up in my life. At the very least, I’ll be able to look back and have a record of all the crazy things that happen in my life.

Crystal’s Comments:  I peeked at your site and laughed at the bumper sticker mentioned in one of the posts “I’m nuttier than a squirrel turd”  I need that sticker, hehe.  Overall, sounds like you have really clear priorities and live below your means, so kudos!  I have no idea if anyone cares what I think of their reader profile finance breakdowns but assume I should throw in my 2 cents, lol.  Good luck with figuring out your housing situation in the future.  And thanks for participating!

If you would like to participate in this series, please follow the guidelines found at BFS Reader Profile and submit your own story.  Everyone is more than welcome and you can stay anonymous if you’d prefer. Thanks!

Be Sociable, Share!

7 comments to Reader Profile Friday – Jennifer’s Journey

  • Woah!!! You are so awesome! First of all bringing an annual 100K? It’s crazy. I know both my husband and I are bringing 75K and we both are highly educated.
    Can you build a house on your land?

  • Sounds like you guys are doing great!

  • Good luck with all of your debt payoff!

  • Sounds as if you guys are nailing it with a nice income and a clear, concise plan to reach your desired financial goals. Great work. I love that saying too, Crystal (nuttier than a squirrel turd) cracks me up every damn time.

  • What a great profile. Thanks so much for sharing!

  • Hey Jennifer, your income vs the debt you’ve shared seems well balanced…not over extended. I am wondering if you feel like you have a lot more debt because you are spending the rest on other not so tangible stuff and don’t have as much “cash on hand” as you would like?

  • @savvy – Thanks! We live on a corner lot, so there are a lot of zoning issues that affect us. We have to be so far from the road on each side, so far from the neighbors (a church and a field), 50′ from the well, away from the septic tank and field, we also have 300′ of drainage tile that we have to keep away from. It leaves us with this itty bitty piece of land in the middle of our property. So we can either put another mobile home that is the same size as our current, or fix it up and rent it out while we move to the city. I’m leaning towards the city – city water! better internet, cheaper trash pickup.

    @Michelle – Thanks!
    @Christine – Thanks!
    @Jennifer Lynn – We’ve been working on it for a few years now. And I think that my be my new go to line!
    @Tony – Thanks!
    @Leslie – I think that you nailed it. All of my paycheck goes towards the loan payments. I’d definitely like to have more cash in the bank, but we will get there eventually.